Directors’ Award

GRAWA’s Board of Directors bestows this award upon a person or organization whose activities enhance the lives of women. 


2023: Girls on the Run Greater Rochester
2022: Refugees Helping Refugees
2021: Home Start Hope
2020: RESOLVE of Greater Rochester
2019: Girl Scouts of Western NY
2018: Ibero American Action League - Hurricane Maria Fund
2017: National Council of Jewish Women - GRS P.A.D. Project
2016: Crisis Nursery of Greater Rochester
2015: Dress For Success Rochester
2014: Young Women's College Prep Charter School of Rochester (YWCP)
2013: The Susan B. Anthony Center for Women's Leadership at the University of Rochester
2012: Young Entrepreneurs Academy
2011: Susan B. Anthony House
2010: National Women's Hall of Fame
2009: Women Helping Girls
2008: The Laboratory of Interpersonal Violence and Victimization at the University of Rochester Medical Center
2007: The Women's Council of Rochester
2006: Alice Holloway Young, Ed.D.
2005: YWCA of Rochester and Monroe County
2004: Women's Foundation of Genesee Valley (accepted by Rosemary Mitchell)
2003: Sojourner House (accepted by Germaine Knapp)
2002: Wende W. Logan-Young, MD
2001: Hon. Louise Slaughter
2000: Hon. Elizabeth W. Pine
1999: Wilson Commencement Park (accepted by Jean Howard)
1998: Susan B. Anthony (awarded posthumously and accepted by Lorie Barnum)
1997: Ginger Lamb (The Daily Record)
1996: Ellen Little (Empire State College)
1995: Sister Jamesine Rile (Main West Attorneys)
1994: Phyllis Korn (Alternatives for Battered Women)
1993: Hon. Anthony Sciolino
1992: Rona Weiner (Rochester Area Children's Collaborative)
1991: Nan Johnson (Monroe County Legislator)
1990: Rogers Gorman (The Daily Record)
1989: Midge Marshall (producer, GRAWA Gender Bias training video)
1988: Hon. Donald Corbett
1987: Beth Ela Wilkins, Esq.
1986: Joseph G. Fritsch, Jr.