Ally Windsor Howell Champion of Diversity Award

In 2015, GRAWA established the Ally Windsor Howell Champion of Diversity Award to honor the legacy of Ms. Howell, who died suddenly in early 2015, and who was an esteemed member of GRAWA since 2004.   She served on GRAWA’s Board of Directors as Chair of our CLE Committee, as well as being an active member of our Diversity Committee.  Ms. Howell was a nationally-recognized author on a range of legal topics.  However, Ally was best known for her groundbreaking scholarship and fierce advocacy on transgender legal rights and other diversity-related issues.  As an out and proud transgender woman, Ms. Howell’s own experiences informed and energized her work.  Her passion and mission for raising awareness and understanding of transgender issues are reflected in her published works. Described by the ABA as “truly the first book of its kind,” Ms. Howell’s work was “at the forefront of combatting transgender discrimination and safeguarding the legal rights of all transgender individuals.”  This Award, presented periodically, recognizes an individual in the community that embodies Ally’s legacy, leadership, and advocacy in the area of diversity.  It is given to an individual who not only embraces diversity, but whose tireless efforts reflect that valuing, promoting, and advocating for diversity is part of their DNA. 


2023: Heather Neu, Esq.
2022: Josie Sheppard Wilson, Esq.
2021: Danielle Ponder
2020: Destini Bowman
2018: Hon. Connor Jane O'Brien
2017: Hon. Joanne M. Winslow
2015: Amy Schwartz