Crennel-Branch Award

In 2004, GRAWA established the Crennel-Branch Award to honor untiring and exemplary dedication to the organization. The Award, which is not necessarily given annually, is for a GRAWA member who has excelled in promoting the organization and the legal profession.

The Award is named in honor of Rochester's first woman attorney and first woman judge.

Kate K. Crennel was admitted to practice in 1897. Sadly, little is known about her except that her name was included on the roster of admittees to the bar in Rochester that year. We can speculate that she was hell-bent, fearless, unflappable, resolute, and a fine lawyer.

Carolyn Branch, the first local female judge, was elected to Family Court soon after the court was created in 1962. She ran a successful primary against the Republican Party's designated candidate and defeated the Democratic candidate in the general election. 



2023: Katherine Courtney, Esq.
2022: Alison Moyer, Esq.
2021: Tiffany Lee
2019: Heidi Schult Gregory
2018: Margaret A. Sánchez
2017: Greta K. Kolcon
2015: Hon. Debra A. Martin
2014: Ann M. Williams
2012: Denine K. Carr
2011: Elaine Z. Cole
2009: Diane Cecero
2008: Carolyn G. Nussbaum
2006: Nora Jones
2005: Hon. Marilyn Hoffman O'Connor
2004: Eileen Buholtz